What is CMMC?

In today’s digital age, cybersecurity is a paramount concern, especially for organizations involved with the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD). The DoD introduced the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) to enhance protection levels across its vast network of contractors and subcontractors. This model is crucial for those aiming to secure or maintain contracts with the DoD.

What Exactly is CMMC?

The CMMC stands as the DoD’s robust response to the escalating incidents of cybersecurity threats and data breaches within its supply chain. Essentially, it measures the cybersecurity maturity of contractors working with the defense sector. The program requires that these contractors must meet certain cybersecurity standards before they can participate in DoD contracts.

Zero Trust

When Did CMMC Come into Effect?

The model initially rolled out in September 2020. By 2026, all new DoD contracts will require CMMC certification. This means any company wishing to work directly or indirectly with the DoD should prepare to meet these requirements promptly.

Who Needs to Be CMMC Compliant?

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification applies to all layers of the supply chain. This includes:

  • Primary contractors directly working with the DoD.
  • Subcontractors collaborating with primary contractors on DoD-related projects.

By the 2026 deadline, all contracts will incorporate CMMC requirements, creating a standardized cybersecurity expectation across the board.

Breaking Down the CMMC Levels

The CMMC organizes cybersecurity maturity with five progressive levels. Each level builds upon the previous one, reflecting an organization’s ability to safeguard sensitive defense data:

  • CMMC Level 1: Basic Cyber Hygiene – Involves basic safeguarding measures for Federal Contract Information (FCI).
  • CMMC Level 2: Intermediate Cyber Hygiene – Serves as a transition step in protecting Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI).
  • CMMC Level 3: Good Cyber Hygiene – Involves proactive management and optimization of cybersecurity practices.

Levels 4 and 5 focus on advanced and progressive cybersecurity practices, which may be necessary for handling highly sensitive projects.

Comprehensive Review Components of CMMC

The CMMC isn’t a simple checklist. It covers a wide array of cybersecurity domains to ensure comprehensive safeguarding of information. These domains include but are not limited to:

  • Access control
  • Awareness and training
  • Audit and accountability
  • Configuration management
  • Incident response
  • Risk management
  • System and information integrity
Components of CMMC

Each domain plays a critical part in an organization’s overall cybersecurity posture and its ability to protect sensitive defense information.

Proposed Changes in CMMC 2.0

The DoD is not static with its policies and understands the evolving nature of cybersecurity threats. Hence, it proposed updates dubbed CMMC 2.0, which aim to streamline the original framework and bolster security. Key changes include:

  • Reduction of Certification Levels: The model will now include only three levels, focusing on increasing the rigor only as necessary.
  • Self-Assessment: Under specific conditions, companies at Level 1 can self-assess, offering greater flexibility and reducing administrative burdens.
  • Government-Led Assessments: For higher levels, assessments will undergo stricter scrutiny, potentially by DoD-approved third-party evaluators or direct DoD assessments.

These modifications intend to make the CMMC more accessible and practical for a broader range of contractors while maintaining rigorous security standards.

How to Prepare for CMMC?

Prepare for CMMC

For companies preparing for CMMC, start by:

  • Conducting a self-assessment to determine your current cybersecurity maturity level.
  • Identifying gaps in compliance and developing an action plan.
  • Seeking training and consulting from Registered Provider Organizations (RPOs).
  • Updating security policies, processes, and measures to meet the required CMMC level.


CMMC is reshaping how defense contractors approach cybersecurity, ensuring that they have vigorous systems in place to protect sensitive defense information. With CMMC 2.0 on the horizon, contractors must stay informed and ready to adapt to the evolving cybersecurity landscape. Preparing now will not only help contractors meet federal requirements but also strengthen their overall cybersecurity framework.


Still have questions?

CIT is a Registered Provider Organization (RPO). RPO’s are the “implementors” and consulting organizations that help companies achieve the various levels of certification.

About CIT

CIT Careers

Rooted in Minnesota with innovators nationwide, we’re tech problem-solvers & solution providers. From cybersecurity to support engineers, we’re powered by passion & precision, aiming to transform adversity into advancement. Together, let’s redefine the digital horizon.

Get in contact: email us at info@cit-net.com or call 651.255.5780

Copyright: © 2024. All Rights Reserved.

CIT is designated autism-friendly by autism speaks

Leveraging AI: Cybersecurity Q&A

June 25th 10:30am CST

Join this live webinar as we explore the world of AI and discuss how attackers and defenders are using AI, what are the best practices and policies for AI security, and what tools and solutions are available to help.